The Girl Who Touched the Sky Part 1 #atozchallenge #child’splay #LRA


I’m a brave little girl. I have to be. Soldiers came to our village and took my older brother. My mama and papa hid me and my baby brother under goat skins in a garbage heap that soldiers set on fire. Mama and Papa both ran from the soldiers. I dug us out from under the garbage when the soldiers were gone. My one arm was badly burned; my brother was alive but hungry and scared. I took us to a stream to rinse off and get water.

“We can do this.” I coaxed him each day.

We waited for someone to come. No one did.

“We must find them.” I said more to myself than to the baby. The only foods we had were dried posho in pans left by the villagers.

This girl represents many who fled or were captured by the LRA (Lord’s Resistance Army). Her story is fictional – the details are not. Her story will continue for the next several day for the A to Z challenge


Please check out the April Blogging from A to Z Challenge
#AtoZChallenge
a-to-zchallenge.com

2 thoughts on “The Girl Who Touched the Sky Part 1 #atozchallenge #child’splay #LRA

Leave a comment